Another A&F Rant: Why I find their advertising offensive towards men

There I was walking through the mall and I happened upon Ambercrombie store. The big poster thing at the door was all romantic and such, featuring a girl wearing a plaid shirt and some jeans being held in the arms of a faceless man, who thankfully is indeed wearing clothing:

Aw, how cute.

I thought: “Hey look! They’ve changed their advertising! Good for them! Yet I walk just a little bit farther and find another Ambercrombie store sporting this picture:

Hold On! I’m calling 911! HELP IS ON THE WAY!

Now is it just me, or does that look a little like she’s about to, I don’t know, ravish him or something? And not in a good way.

Come to find out, they have separate stores for the men’s clothing and the women’s clothing. Why? Space issues? Or maybe they just wanted to continue this stupid campaign of naked men but on a bigger scale. A cursory look inside showed more mostly naked men being held down by a fully clothed chick. It made me uncomfortable. It made me mad as hell.

Can you imagine a clothing campaign in the opposite direction? Where a guy was holding a half naked chick down? The My Generation feminists would be all over that like white on rice. There would be protests, and news coverage, and psychologists going on about how it is damaging to the emotional needs of girls/women everywhere.

But there are a crap ton of campaigns that make it okay to psychologically damage young boys, and that’s perfectly fine. It’s like the kid shirt designs like these:

Do you see how scared this kid looks?

Or perhaps this is more your speed:

Hey look! A whole board game! Fun for 1/2 of your family! Psychologically damaging to the other!

It was totally okay for little girls to wear these shirts to school, to show them off to the boys they were in class with, to make fun of them, but GOD FORBID the kid get angry and say something mean back. Poor little Johnny will get sent to the corner for that! How could parents allow this to happen? What made them think this was okay? Why didn’t anybody stand up and protest and call the news and prominent psychologists to stop this horrible fashion trend?

Because My Generation feminists have made it impossible for men to stand up for themselves, or their sons, without being villainized.

I am glad that at least one person had the same idea as me as evidenced by this:

See? Exactly the point of my last post!

If I hear another My Generation feminist go on about how women are being objectified in today’s fashion campaigns, I’m going to go ahead and refer them to the A&F campaigns that go so far as to put naked men’s chests on their bags. Yeah, I’ve seen people walking around with them like it’s no big thang.

Well it is to me. Stop the nonsense. Put some clothes on your models and go about your day.

Oh yeah. And burn those t-shirts.

10 thoughts on “Another A&F Rant: Why I find their advertising offensive towards men

  1. Reblogged this on Finding the Secret Places and commented:
    I have to agree here, especially since I’ve heard people disparaging guys unfairly, based entirely on stereotypes. It isn’t fair or equal and makes men think all women, especially feminists are hateful and hypocritical. Feminism is supposed to be about equality right?

  2. I think the difference in the photo above and most advertising is that the desire appears to be mutual. In other ads, most of the women appear to be passive at best, frightened at worst. Just my opinion and feel free to disagree~

    Btw, I don’t know if you have seen the documentary “Killing Us Softly” (vol. 3 and 4 are the ones I have seen and am refering to) with Jean Kilbourne, but she talks a lot about this very topic. I would be interested to hear your thoughts.

    • I’ll definitely check that out!

      But it seems to me that in the second poster the man actually looked a little frightened. I don’t think EITHER sex should be portrayed that way at all.

  3. Pingback: Killing me softly “4″ 45 mintues: A biased documentary about advertising | Breaking Away From Modern Feminism

Leave a Reply

